Maitland Public
Library
Reference Databases
and Useful Websites

CultureGrams Online: in-library use:
Click Here
Click Here
American and world popular culture, past and present, searchable by decades.
Topics covered include clothing and fashions, TV and movies, food and drink,
music and literature, sports and leisure, and much more.
EBSCOHost:
Click Here
MAS Ultra-Public Library Edition magazine
search:
Provides summeries and full-text articles from
500 indexed peridical
titles with over 350 being full-text
Magill on Literature:
Provides plot summaries and brief critical analysis of thousands of literary
works. Also includes brief biographies for more than 1,500 authors.
Novelist:
A fiction database providing subject access, reviews, annotations, and
much more for over 125,000 fiction titles. Also included are other
features of
interest to readers such as "Author Read-alikes", "What We're Reading", Book
Discussion Guides, Book Talks, and Annotated Book Lists.
Book Index with Reviews:
A comprehensive database providing information on over 3.8 million
book titles in a wide range of formats including large print, books on tape,
etc.
Both fiction and nonfiction are included in the database.
Automobile Repair Reference Center
Automobile, SUV, and light truck information, including wiring diagrams,
service
bulletins, and recall information.
Gale:
Access from outside of the library by entering entire library card number as
password.
Gale
Power Search: Search all of our Gale databases from one interface
Click
Here
Literature Research Center:
Click Here
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center:
Click Here
Provides general overviews, background histories, and "for" and "against" viewpoints
on a wide range of current events and critical social
issues
Science in Context: -
Click Here
Learning Express Test Database:
If you want to access the tests from outside
of the library, use your library barcode number as your username
when you set up your
account.
http://www.learningexpresslibrary.com
Includes SAT, ACT, LSAT, GMAT,
FCAT, GED practice tests as well as many
occupational tests
and practice for the U.S. Citizenship test
MedlinePlus:
Click
here
All the health information you need on one trustworthy website.
NEWSBANK: in-library use:
Click Here
Access from outside of the library:
http://infoweb.newsbank.com/signin/MaitlandPublic
Find current and archived articles on issues, events, people, government and
more with the world's largest collection of state, regional, national and
international full-text newspapers and other news sources including the
Orlando Sentinel (1985-Current), St. Petersburg Times (1987-Current
), New York Times (2000-Current ), and the Washington Post
(1977-Current).
World
Book Encyclopedia Online: in-library use:
Click Here
Access from outside of the library (enter entire library card number):
http://www.worldbookonline.com/?subacct=L6509
Useful Web Sites
Genealogy:
Church of Jesus Christ/Later Day Saints:
search a variety of databases for birth, death, marriage records
http://www.familysearch.org/
City of
Maitland:
http://www.itsmymaitland.com/
Florida
Government:
Government departments and legislature
http://www.myflorida.com/portal
Annual Report Filing
for Florida corporations
http://www.sunbiz.org/
Federal
Government:
U.S. House of Representatives
http://www.house.gov
U.S. Senate
http://www.senate.gov/
U.S. Immigration:
http://uscis.gov/graphics
Appointments at the
Orlando Immigration
Office
InfoPass: http://inforpass.uscis.gov
Passport Services
(Passport, Visa, and other information for international travel)
http://www.travel.state.gov/passport/passport_1738.html
`IRS:
Federal Tax Forms and Publications
http://www.irs.gov/
Cultural Partners and
Neighboring Libraries
Maitland Art
Center
http://www.maitlandartcenter.org
Maitland Historical
Society
http://www.maitlandhistory.org/
Altamonte Springs City
Library (click on City Departments, then Leisure Services, then
Library)
http://www.altamonte.org/department/leisure/index.asp?ACTION=view&ID=15
407-571-8830
Orange County Library
System
http://www.ocls.info/
407-835-7323
Seminole County Public
Library http://www.scpl.lib.fl.us/
407-665-1500
Winter Park Public
Library http://www.wppl.org/
460 East new England Avenue
Winter Park, FL 32789
407-623-3300
Law Library at Florida A&M
University Law School - open to public; check for hours open
http://law.famu.edu/go.cfm/do/Page.View/pid/135/t/library
201 Baggs Avenue
Orlando, FL
407-254-3263 Circulation/Information
407-254-3289 Reference Desk
